Natural Sciences

protist kingdom

The protist kingdom is the name given to eukaryotic cells (with a defined nucleus). These are unicellular and multicellular microorganisms that do not fall into another category in particular because they do not have common features. They are not animals, plants or fungi.

Also called protoctista kingdom, both names come from the Greek language and mean “first of the first” and “first creatures.” This group was established in 1969 by Robert Whittaker, although it is little used in books or articles.

Related Articles


One of the peculiarities of this kingdom is that not all the descendants of a common ancestor are included, that is, it is a paraphyletic group.

The members of this group do not maintain an evolutionary line, so they are species that simply did not fit into the animal, plantae, fungi, protista or monera kingdoms . The common feature is that they are eukaryotic unicellular or unicellular-colonial organisms, which are not present in any type of tissue.

For everything else: nutrition, reproduction, locomotion and cell structures, protists are different from each other.

Their reproduction can be sexual or asexual. Some of the species can take on different roles depending on the temperature to which they are exposed. Regardless of how they reproduce, these cells do not produce embryos, the process occurs by gametes and cell fusion (sexual) or cell fission and mitosis (asexual), as the case may be.

Types of protists

  • Archaeplastida or Primoplantae . They are primitive green and red algae, one of the first in the plant world.
  • Stramenophiles or Heterokonta . They are those unicellular and multicellular algae; also other saprophytic protists, parasites that do not have chlorophyll.
  • Alveolata . Organisms that live in water and that may or may not have chlorophyll. Some are parasites, but others have cortical alveoli.
  • Rhizaria . Various organisms of the amoeboid type, with and without chlorophyll, such as mucous molds.
  • Excavate . Organisms known for many years as flagellates. They are heterotrophs and some of them have chlorophyll due to endosymbiosis with green algae.
  • Amoebozoa . It is one of the groups of protists with more members. These are the amoebae and amoeboids, whose cytoplasms form psuedopods. Some have multiple nuclei, others are pre-multicellular.
  • Opisthokonta . It is said that they are the organisms that gave rise to many of the species of the kingdoms of animalia and fungi.

Examples of species from the protista kingdom

  • Paramecia
  • Amoebas
  • Plasmodia
  • Glaucophytes
  • Coanozoa
  • Plasmodium falciparum
  • Trypanosoma cruzi
  • Plasmodium vivax
  • Trypanosoma brucei
  • Plasmodium malariae
  • Leishmania donovani
  • Cystoisospora belli
  • Plasmodium ovale
  • Neospora caninum
  • Babesia canis
  • Plasmodium knowlesi
  • Leishmania tropica
  • Leishmania braziliensis
  • Trypanosoma evansi
  • Theileria microti
  • Hepatozoon
  • Leishmania infantum
  • Crithidia luciliae
  • Mexican Leishmania
  • Eimeria tenella
  • Plasmodium berghei
  • Eimeria stiedae
  • Trypanosoma equiperdum
  • Leishmania major
  • Trypanosoma lewisi
  • Babesia divergens
  • Trypanosoma rangeli
  • Theileria parva
  • Plasmodium gallinaceum
  • Ophryocystis elektroscirrha
  • Trypanosoma congolense
  • Plasmodium yoelii
  • Eimeria acervulina
  • Besnoitia besnoiti
  • Plasmodium atheruri
  • Leishmania aethiopica
  • Eimeria brunetti
  • Neospora hughesi
  • Plasmodium aurulentum

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button